I Turned Down The Offer To Join A SGD$7 million Turnover Firm, and Here’s Why.

Few days back, I ended a call with a business person, whom I hold with high regard. It wasn’t quite a pleasant discussion over the phone, in case you wonder. My wife looked at me in the eyes as I was slipping it back into my pocket and asked, “Was he offended?”

That’s all you need to know how much my wife and I care about respecting him.

But I had my feet firm on the ground I am standing, and I’m not exactly looking at shifting my position if you know what I mean. Perhaps you are lost here. Let me re-structure the whole information outline.

Mr Businessman called me, urging me (or from my perspectives, attempting to make me follow his wishes aka manipulating me) to join him in his business on the pretext of giving me a whole new opportunity to do what I want to do, and you bet I’m not that gullible enough to fall for his trick. He wanted me in, and it’s as simple as that.

He had been talking about retiring, and his concerns he has for his businesses after his retirement – after all, he has no successor me nor any of our mutual friends know of.

He had also talked about how he recognizes my talents (seriously, what talents do I have other than blabbering nonsensical bullshit?), and how he loves to working with young people who have acumen for business. He even went to as far as inviting me to visit his office, and introducing the people who are making things happen for him.

Of late, he has been persuading me, and the persuasion is gradually becoming aggressive, to join him in his business. Now, for the record, I’m a polite guy.

1st call, I’ll think about it.

2nd ring, I’ve my concerns.

3rd , sorry but I have to let you down.

You may think I’m an idiot – after all, we’re talking about a business with a $7,000,000 turnover every year. It’s a business that has good potential for personal development, and since he has no successors / is looking for one in mind, and he’s of retirement age, what am I waiting for?

#1. Learning and Rising Through the Ranks

It’s not going an easy feat, if I were to accept his offer.

1st of all, as we all know, we have to learn how the business works, inside out. From the very bottom of the operations up to the nose poking level, I have to learn from scratch what the whole thing is running on. Not a tough thing to do, but still requires a considerable amount of effort (read: intensive).

I get it – we all have to pay before we can get. In order to have something, I have to pay for it in some ways. Learning from the basics is the only way in this. I’m not being a pussy, by the way.

It would be very different if it was about learning to be a sex guru. I mean, to be a sex guru, I’d need to know a lot about sex, no? And we all know how sex is interesting – we were all built for it in some ways.

But that business isn’t what I have interest in, and no doubt the turnover is sizeable, I am not sure enough to say I would want to sacrifice my time in learning the ropes.

#2. Time

clock_time_gear

It’s a business that not only requires intensive training, it is also a business that requires attention 24/7. Oh, also, hours are from 7am daily until any time after 6pm, all days every week. That’s fucking long hours if you ask me.

If you have been following my blog, you would have known this – I am married with 2 kids. Which also translate as “I fucking need family time”.

As much as I would love to give my family a good life, I would also want to give my family my time and attention. It doesn’t matter to me how the business is a good money-making organisation. The time watching my kid(s) grow is something I am NOT willing to trade with. And you know the difference between time and money? I can earn lost money, but I won’t be able to get back lost time.

All the money in the world isn’t going to say sorry to me if my wife was to leave me for another guy’s dong.

#3. He Pissed Me Off a Little

When he first spoke to me about me going over to his company, I told him my concerns, mainly the inconveniences I would have from the early hours (because kids now don’t sleep early; don’t be silly), and the sending / picking up of my younger kid before and after work. He listened attentively before saying this:

“To gain something in life, you have to make the decision to forgo other unnecessary things.”

And that was when he threw in the deal breaker.

Excuse me? Other “things”? Unnecessary?

My time with my kid isn’t a “thing”, neither is my kids’ well-being unnecessary. I want them to grow up to be good fathers, and I’ll have to be one myself just so they’ll have their references. It’s not something I’m willing to “forgo” because it’s “unnecessary”.

It is my duty as their father to ensure they grow into responsible adults. On the other side of things, it is NOT within my “How to be a good father” textbook to put my family under the line of “earning bucks”. After all, I’ll live with little or a lot of money, but I’ll die an unhappy father if I were to neglect my loved ones.

Mr Businessman has a daughter of his own, yet he finds himself in a juncture where he has problems getting himself a successor. Shows pretty much how he, despite having a shrewd head in business, is poor in knowing what is love – family love.

I’m sorry, but I’m not going to go for that business with an annual turnover of $7,000,000 at the expense of my kids’ childhood.

 

41c1d-originalAndy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people.

He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You.

He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

 

 

5 responses to “I Turned Down The Offer To Join A SGD$7 million Turnover Firm, and Here’s Why.

  1. You have my full support in your decision, for whatever relevance or lack thereof it makes, lol
    As a family we struggled to keep a frugal lifestyle, but the attention and time we gave our kids has been very rewarding. You made the right choice.

    Like

    • Thank you Margarita! I’m glad you think so. As you’ve put it, it’s rewarding when it comes to being attentive to our kids, and it’s these rewards that I place above monetary ones. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For me, that would have been a tough decision. When my kids were young, we were pretty broke. I’m so glad you’re in a position to make such a wonderful choice. Yes, what he said would have been a deal breaker for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

