Just Another Day In My Dream

The sun shines on my face through the tinted windows. I cover my face with my cushy pillow, protecting my squinting eyes from the glare in this corner of my penthouse. My kid rests his legs on my back, sleeping without due concern about how he’ll look.

My beautiful wife tapped me on my shoulders, and wakes me up with her gentle voice. “Time to wake up.” She says.

I look into her eyes, and nod with a smile.

Coffee is ready on the table, few feet away from where I rest. Cornflakes soaking in the bowl of milk awaits to energise me for another day. Ah,  the smell of breakfast. I walk away from the bed, towards the bathroom to brush myself up for the day.

“I’ll be going for shopping with the girls. Can you fetch me later when you’re done with your work?” My wife asks in a voice that makes any straight man weak.

“Sure. I’ll give you a call when I’m done.” I said before kissing her tender lips.

I wake the kid, and bring him to the nanny after his breakfast. Holding the wheel of my Toyota (yeah I know what you’re thinking. Reliability over impression), I send him to the person who will be taking care of him for the rest of the day.

I smile and nod my head to the greetings I get with every step I make in the busy place called office. It is a place of fun and work, and it’s also a place that I have to return to every day.

I meet with my buddies to fill our stomachs, and that makes lunch a quick gathering for us. As I get back to office, the 2nd half of another hectic day follows.

Writing and going through the drafts sent by many people, I thank my secretary for making everything organized. I think I’ll be in a terrible mess if I didn’t have her in my office for me. Time passes fast when we are occupied, and this day ends just like any other days I’ve had. I save my work and prepare myself for dinner with my wife.

It’s finally time for me to unwind, and I make plans for the evening as I walk to my car. My next job is to pick my missus, before going over to the nanny’s place to get my kid. Just as I press the unlock button of my car’s key, my phone rings.

“Hello.”

“Boss, we have an email from Oprah inviting you to be present for her show.”

“Who the fuck is Oprah?”

 

2014-06-04 21.45.24Andy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

 

2 responses to “Just Another Day In My Dream

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nosey Delights | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice·

  2. Pingback: Nosey Delights. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"·

Leave a Reply

