Daily Prompt: Behind The Colours

I stared at the dark tone, one hand on my chin, and the other holding the palette. After hours of colour mixing, I haven’t had a clue to what I wanted to do with the canvas I had painted grey out of frustration.

My mood was great. It was supposed to be. I never thought that doing something like painting would pull my spirits down, when it was meant to let me express my earlier self. The irony.

Under the shadows of grey, I smudged large shades of maize yellow in the centre, carefully blending the edges through mixing the darkgray that was already there. If my spirits were to be covered by unknown presence of exasperation, let grey be the dark clouds hovering above my body that was still cheery hours ago.

Inside me, I sought for a way out of this maze I innocently built for myself. I dipped my brush into the scarlet red that I had been eyeing, as it reminded me of the urgency for mood control. I painted in vertical strokes it in the centre of the yellow patches, making an abstract creation out of my lack of patience.

With only 3 colours brushed onto the canvas, I decided to give up this attempt. I had put out all I needed to express: red for the urge in me that was seeking a path out of the maze; yellow to represent the straight road  that was changed into a labyrinth, and grey for the culprit who made me captive of this art. It just wasn’t for me; this art requires someone with the right frame of mind. I guess after today, I have to respect artists more than I ever did.

I gave up trying to learn, for creation through words, not colours, is the best trait I have.

 

2014-06-04 21.45.24Andy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: Behind The Colours

  1. Pingback: Blah in the Mind! | shivansh chaudhary·

  2. Great post! I really like how you expressed each colour against a feeling or emotion,that’s exactly what art does, whilst also relaxing. I find when I am in a uptight mood, that’s when I create some of my best abstracts.. Do carry on trying, you may pleasantly surprise yourself one day!

    Like

    • Thank you, and you’re welcome! You have written very well, putting down the thoughts behind the colour pink you chose.

      It is something that I find hard to achieve with my poor grasp of the language.

      Keep writing and inspire 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Frame of Mind | Nola Roots, Texas Heart·

  4. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give Peace A Chance” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)·

Leave a Reply

