The Wrong Story Of The Genie

“Hold on, that’s not how it works.”

“Who decides the rules?” I asked, flexing my body easing myself from the stiffness I got through the years being a captive of this lamp.

“Well….I read them.” The man said, still not believing what he heard.

“I’m sorry but you have read your stories wrong all your life.” I replied, still not budging to his request for 3 wishes. How can someone be so demanding in wanting 3 wishes to be granted, just because he released a genie from a lamp by accident? Perhaps years being in a container has made me a frog in the well; I don’t understand humans.

“You have the powers, right?” He wasn’t giving up.

“Yes I do.”

“Then grant me my WISHES!”

He was getting desperate. He had tears in his eyes, and they looked like they were flowing down anytime. I did a quick neck exercise, and put my face near his, staring deep into his soul.

“You don’t need, and you don’t deserve any. One more time, and I’ll make you take my place in the lamp.”

“YOU ARE A FUCKER!”

“Well, I don’t have a dick. Sorry to disappoint.”

Sounds of quickened footsteps were soon heard behind me. The whiney guy who was about to cry looked over my side, and he stared ahead, seemingly interested in what was coming. I turned my head to see a woman running frantically towards us. Before I could take a quick look at her, she tripped and fell on her fours.

The crybaby ran to her and picked her up. She was a gorgeous woman, and the tears on her cheeks were not making her any uglier. She looked up at the guy, sobbing and said, “Thanks.”

“What’s the matter? Do you need…” He couldn’t finish saying what he wanted to; the woman stood up and continued running the way she was going towards.

“Hold on.” I said. “Stop your tracks and make your intentions known. Why are you in a rush?”

My deep voice scared her stiff; she stopped and looked at my legless body floating in the air. She couldn’t mutter a word to me.

“I mean no harm. Just say what you are worried about.”

She looked at me, and after seconds of silence, started to speak.

“I’m looking for help.”

“For help with what?”

“My father…he’s…” She broke down crying.

“No fear, for I can help. Tell me.”

“He’s not making it.”

I took out my genie mirror from my pocket, and looked into it, checking out her father. I saw a man in bed, trembling as he grasped for breaths, gripping the side of the bed in his way of resisting his death. I knew, his time was up.

“What do you think you can do by running across this forest?” I asked.

“I want to find a doctor who can help him.”

“Will there be anyone capable enough to heal him?”

“I don’t know…” She kneeled down with her palms covering her face. She had broken down.

“Genie.”

I turned my head to the guy who just ended his cries for wishes. “What?”

“Give her my wishes…please?”

I looked at the guy who was starting to look charming to me. Without saying a word, I turned my body towards the helpless woman.

“If I could grant you 3 wishes, would you take it?”

“Yes, yes!” She wiped her eyes, and nodded her head. “I wish for my father to recover.”

“Your wish is granted. Now, go back and reunite with…” An unexpected cough interrupted what I was saying. “Father.”

“Thank you…How can I repay you?” The woman, with her hands together, asked.

“Just be filial and do good, that’s all I ask.” I replied.

“Where do you live with your father?” The man asked the woman.

“Just out of this forest, 20 miles north from the perimeter.” She pointed in the direction she came from.

“It’s very far from here.” The man said. “Genie, can you help her by getting her home right now?”

“That’s possible. ” I said. “Do you want that granted as well?” I asked the woman.

“Can I?”

“Yes, you can.”

“If so, please.”

I did not say anything thereafter, and she disappeared into thin air through the magic I have casted. I knew she was home with her father who’s now fit and healthy.

“Thank you.” The man said to me.

“You are…..*coughs* are welcome…*coughs*” I answered.

The silence that came after my reply was deafening, and looking at the lamp, I knew it was time for me to head back in. Just as I was going to make my move, a tinge of guilt overcame my senses. I felt something less than right. The man nodded at me, and turned away walking off.

“You miss her, don’t you?” I asked.

“Who?”

“The woman. You miss her.”

“I…”

“Walk north out of this forest. I’ll grant you the last wish, and that is to be her husband. You’ll see her once you’re out, and everything will come naturally when you two meet.”

“Really?”

“We genies never lie.”

“Thank you!” He said, before running north towards the other end of the forest. I saw him ran out of my sight, before closing my eyes over the exhaustion.

The evening sun shone on my body that was fast vapourizing into the air. I watched the sun went down for the first time in many years, also the last time I’d ever get to see. Genies live no longer than the 3 wishes they grant, and it is the truth that I have failed to mention, even when it was my turn. I closed my eyes to enjoy the last few seconds of my life with the evening breeze touching my body that was fading away with every seconds that went by.

 

2014-06-04 21.45.24Andy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

2 responses to “The Wrong Story Of The Genie

  1. Pingback: Blogging: What I’ve learnt In A Month | The World of Andy Lawson·

  2. Pingback: A Fabulous Diva Formerly Known as Genie | TyroCharm·

Leave a Reply

