Google Search: Same Keywords, Different Results

I saw myself on the first page of Google Search, and man, it was like an achievement for me.

It felt like I was back to the school days, when teachers were calling out the names of good students in order to give them due recognition for their good behaviours for the past 5 days, and I was one of those being called out for putting up the good boy show. Nice!

First, it came to me as a message from my friend, saying he found me in the first page of Google Search, when he searched for the keyword Mind Block.

Convo screenshot

Naturally, I was excited to know. So, I did a Google Search using the word “Mind Block”.

Mind Block Screen Shot

I thought I was finally seeing some forbidden fruits of labour after a month of intensive blogging, until another friend of mine told me he tried to search but he couldn’t find. I was puzzled over that, so I did another search on my phone.

Phone search

Ok, perhaps he had some problems with his Google. But when I realised I couldn’t get this off my mind this morning when I woke up, I did another search on my computer using incognito mode. I didn’t want to give up. It turned out like this:

Screen Shot 2014-07-04 at 1.48.37 pm

Gone, I was. Just as what I was suspecting – Google has a personalised set of search results for every different users. What you are searching for might not be what I will find, even if we are in the same network. So, after being betrayed this brutally by Google, I went back and did another search to understand more on why were the results different. I mean, after all the tagging and SEO shit, this personalised thingy is making all our SEO efforts futile, isn’t it?

My suspicions became real when I came across an article that wrote:

Google seeks to provide the best results for individual users. This means that they want and expect search results to be different from person to person and that people searching in the same office may see different search results.

This also means that the same person may see different results between his or her work computer and home computer.  Here’s why two people in the same room may (and probably will) see different results when running the same keyword search using Google.

Ok, I understand it now. Thanks Google (no, not you, Obama).

 

41c1d-originalAndy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

One response to “Google Search: Same Keywords, Different Results

  1. Pingback: Google Search: Same Keywords, Different Results |·

Leave a Reply

