Best Combat Unit: 1st Singapore Commando Battalion

10489671_10152513102621063_4931134449935352882_n

1st Singapore Commando Battalion of the Singapore Armed Forces won the Best Combat Unit for year 2014, marking their 28th time winning the title. Congratulations, Commandos! You have done well for 28 years. For Honour and Glory!

It is common to see differing views coming from people everytime an article like this gets published, and this, coupled with the fact that the SAF is made up of largely conscripted soldiers, seeing cynical views is like seeing ants – they are everywhere.

Cynics will jump at the first opportunity to comment on how the pride from the title is useless, national security is redundant, or the current generation of Defence Forces are trained to protect foreigners in Singapore, just to name a few. I have to admit that when I read the news, I was also expecting to see people with different perspectives commenting about the win. I, for one, have my own opinion on this, and that’s the unfair advantage.

I wasn’t from the Commandos during my National Service days, because I wasn’t selected for the interview. Hell, I would have failed even if I were called up for it prior my enlistment. So, have you noticed my point now?

Enlistees are interviewed before they are selected to be into the Commando Units to be trained to be the elite soldiers. Technically, you must have certain combat and physical fitness before they will even consider you to be part of them. Doesn’t matter if you are conscripted. They cannot afford to have someone who can’t run, pull, jump, sprint or are weak in the abs. They will not consider anyone without stamina that meets their standard of acceptance.

Judging from that, I believe that if other units were given the privilege to select their enlistees, many combat units, including Armour, Signals, Infantry, Engineers, or Artillery, will be competing with the Commandos on a level playing field. Guards, I’m not looking at you, because your fitness standards are equal with the Commandos. You guys are already at the same ground with them.

It is as good as saying, “I’m bringing in the best people into my unit, and leave the rest to you all. And we’ll compete for the best combat unit this coming SAF Day.”

Equation isn’t balanced, is it?

Anyways, to win a BCU entails good results from IPPT (Individual Physical Proficiency Test), individual marksmanship, combat readiness, and readiness in combat support that include logistics in store and vehicle readiness, amongst others. After winning for 27 years, 1st Commando Battalion has this unspoken pride that they have to protect, and they sure did it well. For that, I have to give it to them. *claps slowly*

After reading this news, I saw again how people debated on the win, and it was a little depressing to see that no one looks at the same angle as me (doesn’t anyone noticed the unfairness with the selection?!). Most, if not all, debated about the winning of the title. Essentially Pride VS No Need for Pride or Appreciative VS Unappreciative

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 13.32.49

There are a lot more, but I’m not going to talk about them. I’m sick of seeing these, and I seriously can’t find the energy to comment further in regards to this. However, I’m against this particular guy who caught my attention. Just to rave and rant, I am.

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 13.33.14

Curiousity got the better of me, and so I clicked into his profile to check him out. Frankly, I wasn’t against his views, even though I do not agree to him – supposedly a man – being a wuss. N’uff said.

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 13.59.40

He graduated from Arcadia University, a private University in Philadelphia that belongs to what I supposed is the top-ranking group, and holds a MBA. Granted, colleges don’t enforce views on individuals, and they are free to have their own opinions. But, just but, why is he, the guy who claims to be a graduate from there, writing in an English that is just so difficult to speak. Try speaking what he had written, and listen if it makes any language sense. You may need a recorder for this though.

I know, this is a personal attack, and I’m not denying. But he has credentials that make me a lesser villain here. Fact is, he enjoyed the security of the nation and got his degree (assuming he’s not lying), and turned around biting the hands that fed him by throwing away all the pride that he deemed unnecessary.

I hope he don’t reproduce, because no matter how well his kid/kids are going to do or achieve, he’ll not have any pride either. I’m tired to go on about the same issues here again.

 

41c1d-originalAndy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

 

Leave a Reply

