Writing With a Blank Mind

I’m staring in the blank now, pondering over what to write. I’ve been staring into the screen for…I don’t know, past 30 minutes? Strange how my mind’s now blank, after days of writing.

My habit of writing includes having the first drafts out in the Writer or Word, and then copy and paste them on my blog after some brief (brief, because I still miss some errors no matter how many times I re-read them) proofreading before publishing. Okay, so now you know a little about my writing.

I wrote that paragraph yesterday.

Now, I’m back to continue writing after putting off for a day. Interruption came cruelly in the form of my kid asking for milk, just as I was halfway through the previous paragraph. Soon, it was time to sleep, and so I clicked “save” and crashed the bed with the young fellow. Well, the good part of it was he couldn’t sleep without me by his side, and that got the “SuperDad” cape flying with pride in the wind behind me.

Today, I tried to write something, but I have been writing and deleting. Something just isn’t right, and I wonder what. I am having difficulties with writing fluidly, even as tons of topics that I could write flood my brain. My mind seemed exhausted.

Wait a minute, is that hunger that I am feeling?

I hate this feeling. Seriously. Mind block is the worst thing a writer can get, and it spares no one. I thought I had found a way out of it, only to realise that it’s still hitting me occasionally. And the god-damned phone was beeping as I was typing this sentence, creating another bout of distractions that I do not welcome.

I need some stimulant. Chocolates maybe?

 

41c1d-originalAndy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people. He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You. He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

 

3 responses to “Writing With a Blank Mind

  1. Pingback: Blogging: A Twisted Affair. | The World of Andy Lawson·

  2. Pingback: Blogging: A Twisted Affair. | The World of Andy Lawson·

Leave a Reply

