My Blog Was Awarded “One Lovely Blog Award” !

download-19

Let me be truthful here.

Last night, I was about to uh…you know, write about the blogging awards that I have been seeing bloggers getting nominated for. Like how all the other cool kids are getting the free candies from the vendor and sharing their smiles among themselves, and you are there standing a distance away looking at how nice it’ll be to shove those lollipops they are licking into their throats. You know how it feels like, don’t you?

Envy is an understatement. I’m going to use the word “jealous”.

I mean, seeing all the bloggers out there – and I have to say they deserve the awards – getting nominated, and at the same time seeing my blog’s followers growing in size (that is, doubling every month) and yet I’m not one of them? Please tell me you like my funny posts. At least.

Then came the urge to write something hateful. My rant. I was seconds away to putting my fingers on the keyboard when I received a notification from one of my blogging buddies Diana. She left a comment in one of my articles:

I nominated you for the one lovely blog award, you can check it out here:

http://mommyx4boys.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/one-lovely-blog-award/

Hurraaah! I started to believe that there is a guardian angel always around watching over me in whatever I wish for…and…do…. then it dawned on me this – is my angel also watching when I was having sex with my wife?

No matter. The award is something that I am happy (exhilarated!) to get nominated for. Can’t be grateful enough.

But there are works to do. I have to:

a)     Thank the person who awarded me

b)     Display the “Lovely Blog Award” on my blog

c)     Share 7 things about myself

d)     Nominate 15 bloggers I admire, and let them know by commenting on their blog.

Oh, that’s easy. Let me get down to work first.

#A   Thank the person who awarded me

This big THANK YOU goes to Diana!

Although I haven’t been really active in this blog-o-sphere for long, I want you to know that I appreciate you taking the time to read my articles and letting me know that you’ve enjoyed them.

You have given me the motivation to write harder (and hopefully I don’t have to change my keyboard) with this award from you. You can be sure that you’ve inspired me. I hope that you will continue to blog on, for I’ll always be there to read the wonderful articles you’re sharing. Thanks again!

Wait. Why do I have this feeling that I am on a stage with something on my hand?

#B   Display the “Lovely Blog Award” on my blog

That’s no big deal. I’ve reserved a space on the right side of my blog for this. My 1st achievement, and I got to be proud of it.

#C   Share 7 things about myself

This is tricky. Heh. Anyways, here goes:

1)    I wish to be able to see ghosts one day, although I know I’ll be pissing my pants when I do. I am contemplating buying adult diapers though.

2)    I’m really good at geomancy, or Fengshui, if you believe in that for a start.

3)    I love to make friends, and I’m friendly (contrary to what you’ll see if you come to my country)

4)    I never liked beer, or even the feeling of my face flushing.

5)    But I smoke.

6)    I love Christmas, even though I’m a free-thinker (not an atheist, but more of an agnostic).

7)    I cook damn good pastas, especially Aglio Olio and Carbonara.

#D   My 15 nominees (in no order) for the “One Lovely Blog Award” are:

1)    Priyanka

2)    Jessica

3)    Andy Chih

4)    Alissa Kirkwood

5)    Christy Birmingham

6)    John Lee Taggart

7)    Adelie

8)    Natasha

9)    Margarita Morgan

10) http://traversinglines.wordpress.com/ (sorry, I couldn’t find your name in your blog or contact details)

11) Qwen

12) Reenie Denver

13) The Crazy Bag Lady

14) Skinny and Single

15) Mia Bentley

To Ivy, Jason, and Cindy, I did not nominate you because you’ve already been nominated for the same award. As for my fellow blogging friends whom I’ve chatted with through comments, I might have left you out, because 15 isn’t a huge number to include all of you. But I assure that you’re still on my mind.

Once again, thank you Diana for your nomination. If you haven’t followed the people I’ve mentioned already, you should now. Click on the links I’ve provided above. Visit them, follow them, and be amazed. Andy Lawson says so.

Now, over to the next 15 bloggers to pick their nominees. I’m handing the mic over to….wait, what?

Don't mind me. This is my first award

Don’t mind me. This is my first award

 

 

41c1d-originalAndy Lawson is the average man on the street that you’ll not even trouble yourself looking at him if he passes by you. He’s sensitive to bullshit, and he hates mediocrity in most people.

He is the author of his self-published book: Facts and Fiction of Fengshui: Facts that Masters are NOT Telling You.

He doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter, because he hates to be associated with people who tend to be passive-aggressive online, but he does have a very limited set of vocabularies, terrible grammar, a twisted mind that makes himself God in his own twisted world and an ability to communicate with people who wish to be his friend.

 

31 responses to “My Blog Was Awarded “One Lovely Blog Award” !

  1. Thankyou for the kind words, this was a great acceptance post and im so glad I was the first one to give you an award, im sure I wont be the last. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Andy for the award!!! So very kind of you! you were my first blogger friend and I am so glad we are able to enjoy each others blogs the way we do. I have never been nominated for any awards… so this is a real shock and an honour! 😀 Thanks again 🙂
    Jess

    Like

    • You’re very welcome, Jessica!

      I’m sorry it took me this long to reply you. I figured replying to you using a real keyboard is better than the screen of my phone (it’s evening time here, and I just went for a 2-hour run + exercise).

      I’m happy to know that I was your first blogger friend, and trust me when I say this: you ARE my friend, even though our communication means limit to only through comments via our posts. I enjoy reading your posts and this is true.

      Now, you deserve the award. Be proud, and share it with your followers. I’m honoured to be the first person to nominate you for the award. I’m going to say to you, what Diana (the lady who nominated me) said to me:

      “It’ll not be the last award. I’m sure.”

      🙂 Enjoy your day with your beautiful smile.

      Like

  3. Pingback: My Blog Was Awarded “One Lovely Blog Award”! | Nothing Figured Out·

  4. WAAAAAHHHHAAAAAHHAAA :’) :’) This is definitely a huge deal . And that’s true Andy , I’ve been seeing these amazing bloggers being nominated for blogger awards , and I was like really happy and they were all really inspiring to me , but .. I was longing for something like this to happen to me .

    Like

  5. Goodness gracious! It is so wonderful to hear from you. I am very grateful and humbled by your choice, specially since you wanted to share your own joys with me as well. Thank you, Andy, I feel special. lol

    I also thought that your story about others being nominated is very funny. Not that I’m making fun, you understand, but that I believe at some point we have all been there. It is one thing to be nominated by an organization, but nominations by your own peers are very special and they mean so much more. You were in line to receive a few of these and I know others will follow shortly.

    Congratulations on your own well deserved nomination.
    =)

    Like

    • You are very welcome, Margarita. Indeed, being nominated by peers is something very special. The sense of belonging to the community. Urgh, I can’t find enough words to describe here. Lol.

      Thank you, and I believe that with friends like yourself here, I’m ready to share and write harder (nominations aside, it’s the friendship I’m after). 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: YYYYAAAYYYYY ME !!! I’VE BEEN NOMINATED FOR THE “ONE LOVELY BLOG AWARD ” | Summer And Art·

  7. First, YAY!!!!!
    Second: I’m not at all jealous, I’m happy as heck for you :-)))

    May this be the first of many, and I know we’re “new” friends and from here and I don’t even know where you’re from and don’t care, because I really enjoy your writing and consider you a “new” friend. That’s okay, I’m a new blogger/not-so-new-writer, but I get lost here, just trying to comment, as my last one didn’t even post. Don’t know why.

    Third:
    Can we get a …………
    *******************APPLAUSE********************
    A HUGE one for Andy?

    Congrats!

    Marilyn aka katlnhat

    Like

    • Thanks Christy! Glad to know that my post managed to put a smile/giggle on your face, and if you like to try out my pasta, come SIngapore. I’ll take out the pan/wok anytime. 😉

      Like

  8. Pingback: About ME. | Storytime with John·

Leave a comment